5 Tips to Reduce your Waste at Work

Zero Waste - Indiana Recycling Coalition

Is your work wasteful? Most workplaces are not always environmentally conscious and at times it’s challenging to be zero waste at the office.

I work at a hospital and there are various types of waste. Certain waste is necessary to keep everyone healthy and safe. Unfortunately, we cannot control the outcome of that particular kind of waste. However, as individuals who work in high waste industries we should inspire other employees to be environmentally friendly and stop waste where we can! Below are 5 tips to help prevent waste at work!

Stock Up Your Work Kitchen and Breakroom: Several years ago a coworker surprised me with brand new set of reusable containers for our office breakroom. She knew how9 Best Glass Food Storage Containers 2019, According to Customer ... much not using plastic meant to me and how I despise wasting food. Everytime we have a party with leftover food I reach for one of the reusable containers!

Another coworker brought a set of plates and bowls for our department to use during meals. I’m not a coffee drinker but whenever I need a hot chocolate fix I always grab my mug instead of a styrofoam cup.

Bring Your Lunch: Almost everyone I work with grabs their lunch from the cafeteria. The styrofoam to go plates, plastic utensils, drink bottles, paper napkins it all involves so much packaging! On top of the waste it’s expensive and unhealthy. I enjoy bringing my leftovers in reusable containers and every day!

Give Your Printer a Break: Our department prints often. There are lots of nursing orientation schedules and worksheets that have to be distributed to new employees. I understand that so I looked for other ways to not hit the print button. A great way to cut back on paper for presentations is to strictly use digital versions and not require everyone to print off the presentation decks. Everyone can take notes in a notebook and not on the printout. This will save a ton of paper and will help keep everyone more organized.

Another paper saving action we do faithfully is ways print double sided and reuse the back of paper for scratch sheets.

Recycling and Compost Bins: We implemented a great recycling system a few years ago. There are large blue bins placed at all the main eating areas in the hospital as well as Style Selections Trash Cans #WB0289break rooms and nursing units. Clear legible signs are placed by the bins.

It would be a dream to have a compost bin somewhere in the hospital but in Mississippi not many people know how to compost or what a compost is. I have tried enlightening others about the benefits of composting so maybe one day it will catch on! For now I keep an empty coffee container in the break room where I add coffee ground and produce, then take it home once it’s full.

Establish a Green Team: I highly enjoy being on the Green Team at work! I have been a part of this proactive team since I started working at the hospital and there have been so many benefits throughout the years. Our purpose is to educate staff and initiate processes that promote sustainability of our environment, inside and outside, the workplace!

Do you have any tips for reducing the waste in your workplace?

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑